Latrobe Valley Volleyball Inc.

Morwell, Moe, Churchill
Established in 1966

   Churchill Community Volleyball Competition 

The Churchill competition is the starting point of many of the current Latrobe Valley Squad team players including the VVL 2008 Div 1 MVP winner and multiple Div 1 CC all star 6 Aaron Magnuson, women's VVL 2011 Div 2 MVP Jade Henry & men's 2009 LV MVP Adam Rogers. This exciting mixed competition is run on a Thursday night throughout the school year and anyone interested in playing please enter the "contact us" page and find the appropriate contact info.

From 2011 the Churchill Competition may incorporate a new University Season competition that will accommodate university student teams and take account of the university semester calendar; so all university students catch up with us in O Week or contact us via the contacts page.     

* 2013 Competition * 

Season 1 

Grand final winners - Ezy

Runners up - V-Fa

Season MVP men -  Andrew Flanigan

Season MVP women - Melissa Unmack

Grand Final MVP - Shane Foster

Ezy defeated V-Fa 3/1, 24/26, 25/22, 25/18, 25/21 

* 2012 Competitions * 

Season 2 TBC

Grand final winners - Ezy

Runners up -Who?

Season MVP men -  

Season MVP women - 

Grand Final MVP -

Season 1  TBC

Grand final winners -

Runners up -

Season MVP men -  

Season MVP women - 

Grand Final MVP - 

* 2011 Competitions * 

 Season 2 

Grand final winners - Who?

Runners up - V-Fa

Season MVP men -  Glen Veysey

Season MVP women - Val Veysey

Grand Final MVP - Sean Unmack (V-Fa)

Congratulations to Who? on winning the CCVC premiership for season 2 2011. The game was fought very hard despite the score difference and points did not come cheaply. Who? was the more consistent team though out and came out on top after 4 well played sets. The match scores were 25-15, 21-25, 25-19, 25-16. Well done everyone on another great season of competitive volleyball in Churchill. 

Season 1  TBC

Grand final winners -

Runners up -

Season MVP men -  

Season MVP women - 

Grand Final MVP -  


 * 2010 Competitions * 

Season 2 

Grand final winners - Who's Your Daddy?

Runners up - Who?

Season MVP men -  Glen Veysey

Season MVP women - Jade Henry & Val Veysey

Grand Final MVP - Jacob Gruis (W.Y.D)

For the first time in many years veteran team "Who" finished the season with an impressive record and easily won their way through to the Grand Final. W.Y.D on the other hand after having a drastic change in their team's members this season and finishing 4th, had won 2 straight set semi finals to play for the right to win the coveted CCVC perpetual trophy. 

The game was a cracker seeing the 2 best offensive teams in the competition go head to head. Although the game was close in almost every aspect, Who's big hitter and season MVP Glen Veysey struggled to impose his will as he had so often during the season and was heavily defended by W.Y.D's Ben & Steve Gruis and Aarron Russell. LVVI life member and club legend Peter Depellegrini put in a barrage of well placed attacks and set some fantastic attacking opportunities but was unable to spur his team on to victory. Great hitting and blocking by Jacob Gruis and well calculated setting from Jade Henry gave W.Y.D the edge enough to see off "Who" 3 sets to 0. Congratulations to all players for a well fought out and entertaining Final.

Thanks also to Sean Unmack and his team (VFA) on doing a great duty for the match.

Season 1 

Grand final winners - V-Fa    

Runners up - Who's Your Daddy?

Season MVP men - Jacob Gruis 

Season MVP women - Jade Henry

Grand Final MVP - Jacob Gruis (W.Y.D)

In a replay of the previous grand final V-Fa and Who's Your Daddy played off to take home the cash and bragging rights of the Churchill Community Volleyball title. The match started hard with much hard hitting and fierce blocking pushing each team to pull out all the stops. Sets were won and lost in the back court and it seemed at times that the team to first out think the other was going to win; then several dives and sprawls made each team rethink their tactics. After a very see-sawing game the stage was set for yet another 5 set grand final. After getting off to a good start V-Fa managed to scrape home the victors yet again. Congratulations V-Fa for their second straight win! And also to Jacob Gruis who took out both the season MVP and the player of the grand final medal, and also to Jade Henry who won the women's season one MVP for 2010.

Thanks also to Peter Depellegrini and his team (Who) on doing a great duty for the match.

* 2009 Competitions *

Season 2 

Grand final winners - V-Fa    

Runners up - Who's Your Daddy?

Season MVP men - Shaun Unmack  

Season MVP women - Melissa Unmack

Grand Final MVP - Jacob Gruis (W.Y.D)

A very well fought game between two clubs that are no strangers to success, both winning the premiership on many occasions. The game pushed to 5 sets and saw much exciting play throughout the duration. Blocking by Nick Bagshaw and Arron Russell with exceptional attacking from hard hitter Jacob Gruis complemented an all round team effort from the W.Y.D club smashing V-Fa in the first set. The fight back was swift and desperate back court play from V-Fa made it a game for the spectators. Shaun Unmack and his team pulled together and fought hard to take back a set; the next 2 sets were a see-saw with both teams taking the lead several times and each team taking a set. The stage was set for another 5th set thrilling final between these two hardened teams and they did not disappoint. V-fa took a early lead and held on thoughout WYD's repeated attempts to counter. A late comeback in the 5th set by Who's Your Daddy almost caused an upset stringing 5 points together to get up 16-15 but the leadership shown by Shaun Unmack and experience of Scott Woodhead settled the mighty V-Fa outfit to take the win in the 5th set 17-19. Congratulations to VFA for their victory and to Shaun and Mellissa on their season MVP's.

Thanks also to Darren Flanigan and his team (Ezy) on doing a great duty for the match.